Blackland Prairie District

email addresspassword




No comments made yet.


We thank you for your support!

Player Statistics




2016 Annual District Recognition Dinner :: Blackland Prairie District :: Circle Ten Council :: Boy Scouts of America

Annual District Recognition Dinner on January 21, 2017

Committee Installed at District Dinner


On Sunday, January 21, 2017, Scouters and some Scouts assembled at the Walnut Hill Methodist Church for a banquet to recognize the work done by so many great volunteers in the district. New District Committee members shown above.

Congratulations to all the award winners at our annual awards banquet last Sunday night at Walnut Hiol United Methodist Church For those of you who could not attend, here is a brief summary of scouters who were recognized.

Spirit of Blackland Prairie Awards:

Ashley Beck, Troop 577

Helen Bowles, Webelos Den Leader, Pack 730

David Robert Buckland, Webelos Den leader, Pack 800

Nancy Burke, Cubmaster & Webelos Den Leader, Pack 19

Marla Cannon, Committee Chair, Troop 577
Marla's dedication to the Troop as committeee chair knows no limits. She has been invaluable at imporving our Troop's relationship with our Chartered Organization, she has created a full communications and on-boarding program to connect new parents with the Troop, and she has ensured we are prepared and covered with active, willing volunteers in all roles that help Troop 577 function. Marla's organization and attention to detail make everyone's job easier to understnad and nothing slips through unattended. Finally, as Committee Chair, Marla has been avilable at all hours of the day and nightwhenever needed and her cheerful attitude and approach has been infectious and greatly appreciated by all adult leaders in the troop. [Editors Note: Marla's award was accidentally left out of the program. Our apologies.]

Janeen Barnard Cooter, Assn't Cubmaster & Webelos Den Leader, Pack 425

Tom Domine, Assistant Scoutmaster, Troop 838

John Gordan, Assistant Cubmaster, Pack 730

Meg Ferretti, Merit Badge Counselor, Troop 577

Rene Jansen, Activities Chair, Troop 577

Besty Jackson, Activities Chair, Troop 800

Tony Magee, Assistant Scoutmaster & NYLT CD, Troop 730

Eric Power, Assistant Scoutmaster, Troop 838

Robert Reis, Assistant Scoutmaster, Troop 838

Edward Smith, Assistant Scoutmaster, Troop 577

Carolyn Stalder, Bear Den Leader, Pack 19

Larry Stephens, Quartermaster, Troop 800

The District Award of Merit for outstanding service to the District:  

Robert Morris, District Chair from January 2015 to January 2017

David Webb, Roundtable Commissioner & Assn't Scoutmaster

2016 Eagle Scouts attending: Troop 838: BradyAllen, John Dunkerly, & William Dunkerly

Thank you to Lyn Blake, Banquet Chair, Robert Morris, Lalita Howell, Debra Lankenau, Kip Lankenau, and Esteban Barrera for making this recognition dinner happen.

CAN YOU DO ONE OF THESE? Merit Badge Councselors to staff Merit College, Excel Gruhu to handle back-end event registration, Website Wizard to assist with transition of District website, Creative Program Folks to help plan District Events, Retired Scouters to help new units as Assn't Commissioner, Shooting enthusiasts to become NRA certified. Be part of the growing Blackland Prairie Committee - it's fun & rewarding! Contact Debra Lankenau for more information. Scouting - A Game with a Purpose!